Crutch plotting


Long time no talk. Sorry about that. Lots of excuses. None that really matter. Blah blah blah.

I’m plotting again. Finding my way into a new WIP.

I’m finding that the plotting process is a lot easier whilst reading books about writing. It’s like having an MFA professor whispering in my ear while I’m working. I’m calling it crutch plotting.

*Ummm Katie? Your inciting incident is lovely, but what’s your story problem?*

Right. Okay. Edit.

*Yeah…your first second plot point needs to be bigger. Waaayyyy bigger.*

Of course. Edit.

*I’ll just say it: your middle is dragging.*

Ack! On it!

I make it sound pesky, but it’s really super. Story construction is really pretty complicated, and there’s an awful lot to think about – particularly when you’re looking at your story on the macro level – so it’s fantastic to have a steady drip of reminders while you’re doing the heavy lifting.

I even bought a Kindle so I could snap up Nathan Bransford’s new book, which appears to only be available in Canada on that platform. I also grabbed up K.M. Weiland’s books on structure and outlining. Then a copy of Hooked, which I love and already own in paperback. All three have been great helps.

Anyhow, onward and upward, as they say!

 

Leave a Reply

