Big News


Let me tell you a little story:

About two years ago, when I first started down this road, my husband purchased two bottles of nice champagne. When he brought them home, I asked them what they were for. He held up the first bottle and said: this is for when you get an agent. Then he held up the second bottle, and said: this is for when you sell your first book.

So the bottles went down to the basement, where they began to collect dust.

Skip ahead to last week.

I’m home, and I have crawled into bed after a long and particularly hard day at work. I am not going to lie – I was feeling a bit sorry for myself.

And then my husband comes into the room. He’s carrying bottle #1.

I said – “come on, it wasn’t that bad a day, put it back.”

And he said – “no, you need to read your email.”

And then I pretty much burst into tears.

Because I have an agent.

Leave a Reply

