Ode to Scott Westerfeld


So I was on vacation recently, and basically read UGLIES on the way there, and PRETTIES on the way home (thanks mostly to flight delays.) I almost cried in relief when the airport bookstore carried PRETTIES in their freeze-dried, ultra-compact, barbie-mansion sized YA section. A good cliffhanger will do that to a girl.

Anyhow, I haven’t yet cracked SPECIALS, but I probably will. I found both books to be compellingly characterized, plot-driven romps through a fascinating dystopian future Earth.

I was also pretty stoked to read YA written about a girl, by a guy. And I have to admit, he Tore. It. Up.

They were both totes bubbly.

Leave a Reply

