In defense of prologues


I like ’em.

They’re like a clue. They get my brain working right off the bat – I ask myself: how will this matter later on? I like them particularly if they differ in atmosphere and tone from the first chapter – the juxtaposition creates tension right off the bat.

The reading I’ve done says prologues should be in a different point of view than the rest of the story, or perhaps occur a very long time before the story begins. They should have some feature that differentiates itself from the rest of the story.

I gather many agents don’t like them. I suppose this to be because they’re used as dumping grounds for exposition and backstory that should be worked into the story in more subtle ways.

I found some good prologue advice here, and here.

Anyhow, I’m keen on mine. We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

